Exploring the 6 Kalimas in English: A Spiritual Journey

6 kalimas in English

The six Kalimas hold a special place in Islamic tradition, serving as concise expressions of fundamental beliefs and declarations of faith. These statements encapsulate the core tenets of Islam and are recited by Muslims around the world as a means of affirming their faith. In this article, we will delve into the meaning and significance of each of the 6 kalimas in English, shedding light on the spiritual richness they bring to the lives of believers.

First Kalima (Tayyabah)

The First Kalima, also known as the Shahada, is the basic declaration of the oneness of Allah and the prophethood of Muhammad (peace be upon him). It states, “La ilaha illallah, Muhammadur Rasulullah,” meaning “There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.” This Kalima serves as the foundation of Islamic belief, emphasizing monotheism and the acceptance of Prophet Muhammad as the final messenger.

Reciting the First Kalima is a powerful affirmation of one’s faith and an acknowledgment of the central pillars of Islam. It is often the first statement a person makes when embracing Islam, signifying their commitment to the core principles of the religion.

Second Kalima (Shahadat)

The Second Kalima, also known as the Testimony of Faith, reaffirms the belief in the oneness of Allah and the prophethood of Muhammad. It adds further detail to the Shahada, elaborating on the attributes of Allah. The Second Kalima is as follows: “Ashhadu a la ilaha illallah, wa ashhadu anna Muhammadan ‘abduhu wa rasuluhu,” translating to “I bear witness that there is no god but Allah, and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and messenger.”

This Kalima emphasizes the dual role of Prophet Muhammad as both a servant of Allah and His messenger, fostering a deeper understanding of the relationship between the Creator and His creation.

Third Kalima (Tamjeed)

The Third Kalima, also known as the Tamjeed, is a declaration of the perfection and greatness of Allah. It states: “Subhanallahi wal hamdu lillahi wa la ilaha illallahu wallahu akbar,” meaning “Glory is to Allah, and praise is to Allah, and there is no god but Allah, and Allah is the Greatest.”

Reciting the Third Kalima reflects on the majesty of Allah, acknowledging His absolute perfection, and expressing gratitude for His countless blessings. It serves as a reminder of the importance of recognizing and appreciating the greatness of the Creator in all aspects of life.

Fourth Kalima (Tawheed)

The Fourth Kalima, also known as the Tawheed, underscores the concept of the oneness of Allah in His names and attributes. It is articulated as follows: “La ilaha illallahu wahdahu la sharika lah, lahul mulku wa lahul hamdu wa huwa ‘ala kulli shay’in qadeer,” translating to “There is no god but Allah, He is One and has no partner. His is the dominion, and His is the praise, and He is over all things competent.”

The Fourth Kalima emphasizes the uniqueness and sovereignty of Allah, rejecting any form of association or partnership with Him. It serves as a reminder to uphold the principle of Tawheed, recognizing Allah’s absolute oneness in all aspects of belief and worship.

Fifth Kalima (Astaghfar)

The Fifth Kalima, also known as the Astaghfar, is a supplication seeking forgiveness from Allah. It is expressed as: “Astaghfirullah Rabbi min kulli zambin wa atubu Allah,” which means “I seek forgiveness from Allah, my Lord, for every sin, and I repent unto Him.”

Reciting the Fifth Kalima is an act of humility and a plea for mercy, acknowledging human fallibility and the need for divine forgiveness. It serves as a constant reminder of the importance of seeking repentance and turning back to Allah after erring.

Sixth Kalima (Radd-e-Kufr)

The Sixth Kalima, also known as the Radd-e-Kufr, is a declaration rejecting disbelief and falsehood. It states: “Allahumma inni a’udhu bika min an ushrika bika shai’an wa ana a’lamu bihi, subhanaka inni kuntu minaz-zalimin,” meaning “O Allah! I seek refuge in You from knowingly associating partners with You, and I seek Your forgiveness for what I do unknowingly. Verily, I repent from it and disown disbelief and falsehood in all its forms.”

The Sixth Kalima reinforces the commitment to monotheism and repudiates any form of association with Allah, whether conscious or inadvertent. It serves as a shield against the pitfalls of disbelief and underscores the importance of maintaining a steadfast belief in the oneness of Allah.


The recitation and contemplation of the six Kalimas provide a spiritual journey for Muslims, reinforcing the foundational principles of Islam. Each Kalima contributes to a comprehensive understanding of faith, guiding believers in their relationship with Allah, their acknowledgment of His attributes, and their constant pursuit of forgiveness and repentance. As Muslims incorporate these declarations into their daily lives, they strengthen their connection with the divine and affirm their commitment to the timeless values encapsulated in the Kalimas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *